The Music of 2013

Posted: February 6, 2013 in 2013, , Music, Myles Kennedy, Ramblings, Stone Sour, Wednesday 13

2013 is quite the year for bands that I love, it’s possibly going to be a bigger year for me musically than last year was, and last year was pretty fucking amazing I must say.

But why is 2013 so big you ask? For a start there’s a new Black Sabbath album?! BLACK FUCKING SABBATH! Sadly it’s only Ozzy, Geezer & Tony touring and doing the album since Bill Ward couldn’t get the contract he wanted or something, i’m not going to go into that since it’s a touchy subject AND it’s a grey area in my opinion.

So first up for 2013 was Bad Religion, I had forgotten they had an album in the works! I also didn’t realise it was released the day before my birthday on January 22nd! I still need to listen to the album, I assume it’ll be typical Bad Religion, but also decent.

Next up for 2013 is Australia guitar virtuoso/rock/pop chick Orianthi, if you do not know who this beautiful, talented and badass guitar chick is from Adelaide, I highly suggest you check out her first TWO albums, Violet Journey & Believe, both very different but both awesome in their own right. She’s also the lead guitarist for Alice Cooper, and Alice doesn’t pick shit musicians. Her new album Heaven in this Hell is due out end of February I cannot wait, i’ve heard a few tracks and they’re clearly more rock n’ roll, the debut single Frozen has a very Hendrix feel to it. Which ain’t a bad thing!

The third album on my radar due for 2013 is David Bowie’s ‘The Next Day’ on March 8th this is his first album since Reality in 2003. I am excited for this, I love Bowie, even if his post 80’s music never appealed to me. But he’s David freaking Bowie, he’s not someone you forget about or not know about. The first single he released from it was Where Are We Now, not a bad song, very Bowie-like in my opinion, the video clip was certainly different to what I was expecting, but it’s Bowie he can do what he damn well likes.

Now Wednesday 13 is meant to be releasing his new solo album ‘The Dixie Dead’ sometime in February or March, there is no confirmed date yet which is sad. I love Wednesday, he’s the artist I believe everyone should look upto. He’s independent of a label, he doesn’t fuck around releasing music, he stays active with THREE side projects, one being Murderdolls which is what gave him the fan base he has. Also he’s a great bloke to his fans.

Stone Sour! Their 2nd part of The House of Gold & Bones duo album. They’re the 2nd band in the last year which I list to to release a multi-part album, Green Day was the other one who released THREE albums within 3 months. I am excited for the second part of this album, I love Stone Sour and I really liked the first part. They’re another band which I cannot fault with their releases.

Daft Punk, i’m not a fan of any kind of electro music, but who doesn’t love Daft Punk?! Especially if you grew up as kid in the 90’s like I did. So i’ll give that a listen, plus they’re the masters of the genre, it’s a fact.

Black Sabbath, the bands first album with Ozzy Osbourne since 1978 when he was booted from the band and replaced with the now late Ronnie James Dio. I am hoping this is true vintage Sabbath and not modern day solo Ozzy. I also hope to see them on tour this year, but that’s looking slim to none sadly. The only gripe I have with the new Sabbath album is it’s titled ’13’ they could’ve been more original than that haha.

That’s it for confirmed albums that are coming out this year; now onto what Wikipedia has as unconfirmed for this year.

AC/DC, being an Aussie I think it’s part of our constitution that I have to love our biggest musical act. But damn AC/DC are so simple, but it goes to show simple sells and they have their formula mastered! I hope they do release an album this year, that would be amazing.

Alter Bridge, it’s known that Myles, Mark, Scott & Brian are off in Tampa (I think) currently writing & constructing the new Alter Bridge album, I only learnt of this band in recent times, about 4 years ago, but I love them, they’re an amazing modern day rock band who deserve every bit of recognition they get. They’re also phenomenal live. I hope the new album is out this year, I need more music sung by Myles Kennedy with his amazing voice.

Anthrax, I believe they have an EP coming out with a bunch of cover, which will be awesome. I love Joey Belladonnas voice and welcome more stuff with him singing on it!

Deep Purple, this band are the reason why keyboards and organs are cool in rock & metal, thank you Jon Lord. I hope they still have it even with out Ritchie Blackmore behind guitar & the late Jon Lord on keyboards.

Dream Theater, not a huge fan but their last release was a pretty solid album, one of my favourites of 2011.

Eminem, like electro not a fan of rap or hip hop, but Eminem, I have a soft spot for the white boy who made it in a black man’s game. Also I grew up hearing his music on the television & radio and it stuck with me, also he does great parody songs, which is what the world needs.

Iron Maiden, another reason why heavy metal exists. All the best bands that started heavy metal were British, it’s a fact! Their last album The Final Frontier was true modern Iron Maiden, I loved it. Was possibly the release I was most excited for in 2010. Can’t wait for more from the metal gods.

Katy Perry & Lady Gaga, it’s true I have a soft spot for their catchy pop songs. Also both are relatively good looking women, can you blame a guy for liking a popstar who dresses in scantily clad clothes and sings about kissing girls or other sexual things? I can’t.

King Diamond, the guy who dresses and looks like a gothic vampire who will suck your blood and then proceed to eat your liver with fava beans who has an incredibly amazing high falsetto voice. His solo work isn’t bad, I wouldn’t say he’s a favoruite but i’ll keep watch on what he releases for sure. Now how about a Mercyful Fate reunion?

Megadeth, it’s already known that paranoid Dave & crew have finished recording and are currently mixing the new album, hopes are that it’s not all about the gov’t are mind controlling us and all these other crazy conspiracies Mr. Mustaine manages to dream up.

Motörhead, Lemmy, love him or well fuck off. He’s Lemmy he is god. Motörhead are like AC/DC they have not changed their sound in 40 years, they don’t care. They’re one of the loudest bands on the planet, ZZ Top being one of the others. I absolutely loved Motörhead’s last studio effort, it was a top notch record.

Rob Zombie, he’s confirmed that he’s got a new album in the works, I liked Hellbilly Deluxe 2, though I hope his musical abilities haven’t taken a dive like his movie making skills look to have. *cough*Lords of Salem*cough*

Sixx:A.M. I found out the other that Nikki Sixx is writing his third album with his side project, hey Nikki Motley Crue needs a new fucking album since it’s been 5 fucking years already, one album in THIRTEEN YEARS from the band that made Glam Metal what it is, is PATHETIC. But I do look forward to another Sixx:A.M. record.

Slayer, Kerry King keeps saying that it’s coming, yeah and so is the impending doom of this world, Kerry. Recwntly he said he has no idea how Jeff Hanneman is doing in terms of rehab after he managed to get bitten by possibly a spider and contracted necrotizing fasciitis. I hope Jeff is well and able to play again, it would be a shame to see him have to hang up his guitar and leave Slayer, after Dave Lombardo he’s the main driving force musically in my opinion behind the band.

That’s pretty much it for what I am expecting in 2013 musically so far, who knows another band I love might end up with another album out this year, Dope would be awesome to an album by maybe even Airbourne or Bowling For Soup.

Leave a Reply

