Music In My Life

Posted: October 11, 2012 in Ramblings

It’s no secret to my friends and those around me that I have a deep passion for music. My room is floor to ceiling of posters of bands, I own one of the most iconic bass guitars ever made a Thunderbird, I love reading biographies about musicians and bands, I have over 40 days of music in iTunes (it’s about 120GB of music), I attend concerts when I can afford to, I own plenty of band shirts, but I could always do with more.

So where did my insane love for music start you ask? It was back early in high school, year 8? English I think, I never really paid attention in English I mostly sat there and wasted 50 minutes each day with my mates the teacher gave up on trying to get us to do work since we just didn’t want to. He was a great teacher though. I remember my mate had the new Slipknot album Vol. 3: The Subliminal Verses, which was brand new at the time in 2004, and I listened to it and I just had to have it so I went out and bought it and that’s where my love for music all stemmed from, that year I also discovered the bands Green Day & Mötley Crüe, which to this day I still love, from there my taste in music grew faster and it become louder especially when I found bands like Motörhead, Metallica, Slayer and Rammstein. Sure I was listening to bands like Deep Purple, Black Sabbath, Led Zeppelin, Queen, The Eagles & artists like Billy Joel & Meatloaf, because that’s what mum & dad listened to and I still do to this day.

The following year was a time in my life that was dark, and sad, that year I lost both of my Grandparents within a week of each other and I was shy loner at school most days, sure I had friends but I never felt comfortable talking about my personal life with them even though I knew they would care. So my personal escape was music, and it always has been since. For example days I am feeling extremely down and want to be cheered up I put on Apocalyptic Love by Slash Featuring Myles Kennedy & The Conspirators, Blackbird by Alter Bridge or AB III.5 by Alter Bridge because I feel a significant connection with that music and lyrics, it just puts a smile on my face, though these days I am also likely to talk it out with my friends whom I love dearly. I know I always have 2-3 friends I can just tell things and they understand me and make me feel better, and these are only people I have formed a close relationship with over the last 1-2 years. If they’re reading this you guys know who you are, I don’t need to mention them.

So through out the course of high school I went through several MP3 players including a Sony Walkman (no not the cassette player) I wore them out due to constant use of them during my school days. I really felt it’s what got me through some of the days where I just didn’t want to be there, you say yeah every kid in school was like that, yeah probably. But I just really despised school because it always seem to get me down, I don’t know why it just did, maybe it was the horrible uniform, the teachers that didn’t care for the students like they should’ve, the kids that constantly bullied me or the over enforced rules on some people.

Funnily enough when I left school I probably listened to MORE music every day, I don’t know how I managed that honestly, but I think I did. In high school I also tried the whole band thing with some ‘friends’ it was something I got started but never got a real say in what we did musically, which I hated. No I don’t want to play Papa Roach, they are a horrible radio band, I would rather play Creed, at least the 3 musicians in that band have amazing fucking talent and can write a well structured song. So that lasted all of a few months, we entered school Talent Show & a local battle of the bands, but due to poor organisation and some people not even showing up to rehearse or worse the actual performance, it left a sour taste in my mouth about doing anything like that again. I would like to do the whole band thing again, but with people who I share a very big taste in music with, not one or two bands here and there, because that’s a waste of time in my eyes.

Currently I am listening to the new KISS album titled ‘Monster’ it’s pretty awesome, i’m not the biggest KISS fan ever, but I know all their hits and I enjoy rocking out to them. Unless I am on the phone, skype or talking to someone face to face you can always find me listening to music, it’s been a big part of my life and I can see it continuing to be for many years to come.

I think it’s appropriate to list my top I don’t know, 20? Albums that have had an impact on shaping me to who I am today, so here they are in no real order.

Master Of Puppets – Metallica
American Idiot – Green Day
No Regrets – Dope
Apocalyptic Love – Slash
AB III.5 – Alter Bridge
Fang Bang – Wednesday 13
Vol. 3: The Subliminal Verses – Slipknot
Welcome To My Nightmare – Alice Cooper
No Guts. No Glory. – Airbourne
Beautiful Creatures – Beautiful Creatures
Paranoid – Black Sabbath
In Rock – Deep Purple
Here Come The Brides – Brides Of Destruction
Holy Diver – Dio
Heaven & Hell – Black Sabbath
Reign In Blood – Slayer
Appetite For Destruction – Guns N’ Roses
Too Fast For Love – Mötley Crüe
The Number Of The Beast – Iron Maiden
State Of Emergency – The Living End

So that’s 20, I have plenty more I could’ve included from bands like Queen, Pink Floyd, The Mayfield Four, Rob Zombie, ZZ Top, RUSH, Skyhooks, AC/DC, Motorhead, Megadeth and so on and so fourth.

So that’s me & music in a nutshell I guess, this last 45 minutes to an hour writing this up has really taken my mind off of the events of today which I am now going to go back to worrying about because I care too much for those close to me. Also I might go have lunch, that sounds like an ace idea now I think about it.

Leave a Reply

