Calling All Corpses

Posted: March 2, 2012 in Music

Calling All Corpses is the 4th solo effort from Murderdolls front man Wednesday 13, it’s possibly one of his best efforts since his debut solo album, but more on that later.

As most of my friends know I am a huge Wednesday 13 fan, I am actually wearing a 2010  Wednesday 13 tour shirt at the moment. Wednesday had kept it pretty quiet that he was working on a new solo album up until about August, which wasn’t unexpected since Murderdolls are having downtime since Joey went back to Slipknot for their return since the passing of Paul Gray.

But onto the album, Calling All Corpses a very Wednesday 13 title, it’s not a secret he loves horror, his stage show is made up of horror props of all sorts, fake blood, white face make up & other scary things.

I must say I do prefer this release to his last solo release “Skeletons” which dove into the darker side of Wednesday 13, it was him coming out from being an alcoholic and other such related thing. Whilst not a bad album, it was not something I was expecting.

The tracklist is composed of the usual Wednesday 13 horror/b-movie grade titles & songs, and a few takes on some classic punk rock songs!

01. Blood Fades To Black
02. I Wanna Be Cremated
03. Ghoul Of My Dreams
04. One Knife Stand
05. Calling All Corpses
06. Miss Morgue
07. Silver Bullets
08. Bad At Being Human
09. London After Midnight
10. Candle For The Devil
11. We All Die
12. Something Wicked This Way Comes
13. Blood Fades To Black (Reprise)

Me being the Wednesday 13 fan I am, I had to actually own a physical copy also because the fact he is independent of any record label which I have a lot of respect for, any artist who has control over their music knows what they’re doing and deserves it. Much like, Slash, Alter Bridge & Motley Crue!

Back to the album, now it’s really 11 tracks, not 13. Since Black Fades To Black is really just an intro & outro, they serve their purpose on the album, but they’re not on my iPods playlist like the rest of the album!

It’s a solid horror punk rock album from a real musician. It always pleases me Wednesday does what ever he wants music wise and doesn’t care what the people think. He’s just flowing with musical genius.

Of course he will never get the recognition he truly deserves but he is cool with that, and I admire that!

So over all I really liked the album, was great. It was even better when I picked up a copy! Now if I could only find a copy of that limited edition vinyl! >.<


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s