This Is Gonna Hurt, Part 2.

Posted: May 5, 2011 in Music

So I guess my original “review” on the album was a bit harsh. Okay it was totally.

But I have reason, I didn’t want Sixx:A.M. to write yet another “concept” album to a “book” by Nikki Sixx, because it would simply just not top the success or song writing of the The Heroin Diaries, it doesn’t.

Though I haven’t read the book yet, so that could potentially change when I read the book, to do that ill have to find a book store that isn’t going bankrupt in this country that will order it for me. So good luck with that since both of Australia’s largest book retailers are fucked, those being Angus & Robertson & Borders book stores.

The track listing of the album is as follows;

1. This Is Gonna Hurt
2. Lies of the Beautiful People
3. Are You With Me
4. Live Forever
5. Sure Feels Right
6. Deadlihood
7. Smile
8. Help Is On the Way
9. Oh My God
10. Goodbye My Friends
11. Skin

This Is Gonna Hurt

I’ve now listened to the album probably 4 or 5 times in total, and a few songs more than that due to the fact they really grabbed me lyric & music wise. I know this album is going to appeal to a lot of Nikki Sixx fans, commonly referred to as ‘sixxtards’ by Motley Crue fans. As I think I previously stated in my other blog I would be surprised if it didn’t position in the Billboard 10 independent like The Heroin Diaries did first week at #7.

As much as I love the work by Nikki Sixx in Motley Crue, when he works with James Michael & DJ Ashba, but more so James Michael he turns more of a pop song writer, maybe it’s because of James’ background as a pop artist. After all his first solo album is classed as a pop effort. I’m not saying that’s a bad thing because he’s a very talented vocalist, his Vocals coupled with Nikki’s writing & DJ’s guitar playing, makes for a powerful band that appeals to the masses, which are mostly Motley Crue fans.

THe songs I love & continue to love on this album are;
-This Is Gonna Hurt
-Sure Feels Right
-Deadlihood
-Help Is On The Way
-Live Forever

These songs really grabbed me, sadly that’s only 5/11 tracks. Where as The Heroin Diaries, I loved every single track & they all get a play from time to time when I want to listen to them.

Now i’m still sour at the whole Pro Tools issue surrounding this album, i’ve just never been a fan of the program. Been there played with it, my mate who did a bachelor in audio engineering has the same feel about the program.

I came across an awesome analogy of the new album compared to a Michael Bay movie by a fellow poster on the only decent Motley Crue forum left! Which is right here in this dusty little corner of the internet.

“The best way to explain it is an album completely made of pro tools is like a Michael Bay movie.

Basically, when everything is too “perfect” like a vocal track starts and stops perfectly on cue, without any run or trail – the singer starts at the high note, ends abruptly. You can tell it’s a cut job.

Basically, it’s like Michael Bay movies vs Christopher Nolan. Nolan refuses to switch from analogue and uses as little CGI as possible.”

I found that to be pretty much spot on. It’s an amazing album for what it is. But at the end of the day it’s still too perfect my liking. But i’m like that, I prefer the sound of a real amp over a computer generated version of say a Marshall JCM800 or a Diamond Nitrox and so on & so forth. It might be fine for some, and I know it’s a cheaper option, but i’ve never 100% bought the whole idea of it.

Anyway I think kinda concludes it for this blog.

Bai all.

Leave a Reply

